RSS

The Good Old Days…lol, Part One

18 May

When I was younger life was so much easier and so much more fun or so it seems, lots of sunshine, loads of good times, lots to do. I don’t remember being cold or dull dreary days, although I do remember thunder storms and snow (not enough snow mind you ! ). I remember Christmas (tinsel and satsuma’s) and Holidays (sand and ice cream). One Christmas that sticks out the most is the year I turned 8, I’d wanted a Chopper Bike for ages it was the IN-THING and a couple of friends had one or they had the smaller version the Tomahawk, my parents said that it was too expensive for Father Christmas but maybe if I was good and saved as much as I could towards it then I just might get one. Well I saved very penny I could get hold of, helping out anyone that wanted a job doing eg Cleaning/vacuuming/cleaning cars anything I could think of. I put it in a jar on the livingroom bookcase and kept counting to see how much I’d got. About a week before my precious Jar vanished with £21.34 pence in it :-{ ,obviously my mum was ready with an excuse for me she said that the elves had taken it to Father Christmas with my letter to see what he thought and I’d have to wait and see … wait until Christmas morning ..Oh myyyy ! That was 7 days away …7 very long, very worried days. Of course I didn’t sleep much Christmas eve and at about 6/7am I crept downstairs, along the hall and nervously opened the livingroom door. The picture is still fresh in my memory. The room was dark and the Christmas Lights were on and sitting proudly in front of the tree was the most Beautiful sight. A bright red shiny Chopper Bike with a red ribbon tied around it. I was the happiest kid in the world, I run around waking every one up and giving them the good knews…lol. I waited excitedly for the permission to go out and then I cycled up and down, round and round until Christmas Dinner was ready completely forgetting that there might have been other presents under the tree but quite frankly my bright red shiny chopper bike, MY FABULOUS NEW BRIGHT RED SHINY CHOPPER BIKE was enough  🙂  more than enough and it lasted me until I was about 18/19yrs old.

🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 18/05/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Good Old Days…lol, Part One

  1. dderbydave

    18/05/2012 at 9:15 pm

    Really good. Well written.
    Never had a present I’d really wanted when I was a kid – had to wait until I was earning a wage to do that. But you dropped me right into your young life. I remember those Raleigh Choppers – very popular.

     
    • ganderingdreams

      21/05/2012 at 1:10 am

      Thankyou 🙂 I wanted to see if I could get a second hand Raleigh Chopper on E.Bay but there going for silly amounts if there in anywhere near a good state 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
