RSS

FREEDOM VERSES SAFETY !

21 May

Verkehrsspiegel

You need to be aware of everything !

FREEDOM VERSES SAFETY is so difficult to get right. I have five boys, the eldest Devon has just turned 23 then Hudson 21, Jamey 15, Joseph 13 and my baby David who’s 10 🙂  They are all wonderful and all different. But I have been reminiscing about my childhood and realising how different it was too theirs. Things have changed so much in such a short time, a lot of the things are good but there’s one thing that bugs me and that’s FREEDOM!  Freedom to explore and experiment as they grow is much more difficult than when I was younger, some of its justified some of its social requirements (usually other people’s) and some of its to do with stuff that was always there but was either hidden or not in your face so much as It is today. One issue with freedom is SAFETY, there are a lot more vehicles on the roads, populated areas have doubled or trebled in size. neighbours are not always friendly or everyone’s just to busy in their own worlds to even notice whats going on around them. The news always seem to have bad things in it like attacks and killings and weirdos hanging around near schools. Then there’s the threat of who or whats on-line or even on our television sets these days. This makes parenting scary and tough along with all our other worries, we have to worry about where they are, where their going and who their with all the time. Now when I was growing up I had tonnes of freedom from an early age, I was always out and about and I knew my parents didn’t always know exactly where I was. I’m so grateful that I was able to do this, it makes you stronger and more independent and resourceful. I wish I could let my kids roam around and explore like I did, I wish I had the courage to let them too. I know I wasn’t always safe and I can remember a few incidents that could have been very dodgy but all in all I had the wherewithal to sence something was not right and get out of there pretty quickly and I thing that stemmed from the freedom I was allowed because you learnt a lot quicker to judge people and places and look after yourself.

 I remember we were always being told about stranger danger, water and road safety and there where clever ad’s on tv, on radio and in posters pasted around the place that helped you remember and understand that certain things where dangerous. WHERE HAVE THOSE GONE ! Things still sometimes happened and still do! that is so sad for all involved (My heart-felt Condolences and Sympathy goes out to them and their loved ones) but what does keeping our children wrapped in cotton wool change or more to the point what has it changed the issues with freedom verses safety are still there  ??? 😦

These are some of the ad’s I remember and some of them are a bit scary even now …lol

v=w_Ry9tiz9_chttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRUBMBi_lp4&feature=relatedhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3FnCiRpdQ4http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vb00H6mCTM8http://www.youtube.com/watch?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 21/05/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “FREEDOM VERSES SAFETY !

  1. LifeWorthLiving

    22/05/2012 at 4:03 pm

    I know how you feel. I have a 2 year old boy now and still worry about him constantly not wanting anything bad to happen to him. However I have also been on the receiving end of not being able to have my freedom. My parents were very overprotective growing up and I wasn’t allowed to do much. They let me get a job but aside from that it was school and then straight home. No playing with friends, no sleepovers, and when I was allowed to hang out on the weekends it was only for a couple of hours. Now, I love my parents and I know they thought they were helping me. But in reality it hindered me when I graduated high school and was kicked out into the world with no knowledge of what was to happen. I was very nieve and got taken advantage of because of my sheltered life. These experiences have made me stronger but in some ways I wish I would have been prepared more for what was out there. Now that I have a son I need to learn how to take care of him but at the same time make sure he has the knowledge I never did.

     
    • ganderingdreams

      22/05/2012 at 7:38 pm

      It’s very hard to get the balance right and it’s even harder these days because theres so many more outside influences. Thankyou for reading and commenting its lovely to get some feedback and I wish you and your son the best in life always 🙂

       
  2. thepainterspalate

    15/06/2012 at 7:00 pm

    Thanks for the pingback. Much appreciated.

     

Leave a Reply

 
