RSS

1970’s Tomboy

23 May

When I was growing up I was a tomboy through and through, most of my friends were boys and I played mainly boys games. I loved racing my bike, football, climbing trees and making camps. I was always out and about swinging from trees, collecting conkers and paddling in the river. Conkers were great we spent ages having conker fights and seeing who had the biggest and toughest. We would boil them in vinegar, even use nail varnish then polish them up, it was very competitive. Sometimes we would acquire(?) some wooden and polystyrene pallets from a small factory unit and make them into rafts and sail them down the river that flowed around the houses and quite often ended up soaked through. We made camps everywhere in fields and in the woods, and used to try to cook potatoes and make toast on make shift camp fires! At school it was football, skipping and french elastic along with marbles and Jacks that took up all my time, I don’t remember many of the lessons..lol

Conker

Conker Fight anyone ?

Related articles

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 23/05/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “1970’s Tomboy

  1. A Nature Mom

    23/05/2012 at 2:13 am

    Sounds like me!

     
  2. ganderingdreams

    07/06/2012 at 2:52 pm

    LOL , I’m still much the same. I think that’s why I was given 5 boys 🙂

     
  3. Gizmo

    22/12/2012 at 10:12 pm

    I first heard of conkers in an episode of Larkrise to Candleford but didn’t realize it was a real game until I read this post 🙂 Thanks for showing me a real one

     

Leave a Reply

 
