RSS

Tomboy Rags & Dolls

23 May

Like I said I when I was growing up I was a Tomboy and dresses/skirts/dolls/Jewelery and makeup didn’t appeal to me. I wasn’t against those things, I was occasionally required to wear a dress or skirt usually for family do’s etc and that didn’t really bother me. It was sometimes uncomfortable and made me feel uneasy and not myself so it’s not a choice I would have made on my own. sometimes the outfit could be made a bit more boyish by adding a denim jacket or a sports cap and badges then it didn’t feel so bad.

School was not a problem, it was a mixed primary with no uniform rules so everyone wore their everyday clothes which is a blessing cos most of my dresses/skirts where home-made. I remember one time my NEW DRESS !!! was made from some old livingroom curtains and actually I thought at the time it was quite grown up but god it was ichty…lol

I was most comfortable in jeans/shorts/t-shirts and tank tops and of course you could go topless at that age like the boys and no one would bat an eyelid 🙂

Dolls/prams and tea sets were not my thing and I would soon lose interest but I did have a favourite doll at one point. She must have been a hand me down because she was old and battered with scruffy cropped hair, but I adored her. One morning it must have been my birthday or something I got up and she was nowhere to be found. I was given a brand new doll, similar looking but BRAND NEW and I hated it . I cried and screamed that I wanted my baby back and throw the new one away but I never did get her back ;_(  I know now that it was done with the best intentions but at around the age of six you just don’t want to know or understand.

This doll is similar to the one I had

I was happiest in jeans and t-shirt with a ball, a conker on a string, a sling shot ,toy gun, bow and arrows set and marbles jangling around in my pockets … oh and of course my shiny red CHOPPER BIKE.

OH HAPPY DAYS 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 23/05/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Tomboy Rags & Dolls

  1. dderbydave

    26/05/2012 at 7:59 am

    I had a friend like this when I about 9. We played out for hours. Got up to all sorts. Eventually someone, Mum I think, mentioned that Jo was a girl. I was non-plussed. She was just a mate, one of the gang. I know she could ride faster than me and could beat most of us in a straight fight. Wonder where she is now?

     
    • ganderingdreams

      27/05/2012 at 10:57 am

      She must have been my double cos I never lost a race or a fight ( mainly verbal ), well maybe I lost 1 or 2 but don’t tell anyone …….

       

Leave a Reply

 
