RSS

OMG 1970’s MUSIC ! (Part One)

24 May

Do you remember the music of the early to mid 1970’s and records, the old vinyl 45’s etc. 

His Master's Voice (HMV) Monaco Portable Recor...

Top of the Pops was the programme to watch on thursday evenings at 7pm when I was growing up. We sat mesmerised by our favourites and seeing who was No.1.

Cover of "Top Of The Pops 1970"

My first big crush was Gary Glitter but it was his songs that I loved like “I’m the leader of the gang (I AM)” and “Rock and roll” parts 1 and 2. Then there was the Chelsea Football squad with “Blue is the Colour” I can still sing the whole thing…lol. The Wombles were a big hit with “The Wombling song” 🙂 I think my favourite of all was “Seasons in the Sun” by Terry Jacks, I love that still and want it played at my funeral. Other favourites were The Bay City Rollers/The Osmonds/Jackson 5/Mud/Slade the list goes on and on. Below is a list of some of my other favourites of the time, they all have a place in my memories of those long summer days.

These are just some that I can remember but I know theres probably a lot more and they’re probably as sad as the ones above… lol

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 24/05/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “OMG 1970’s MUSIC ! (Part One)

  1. saveeverystep

    24/05/2012 at 6:34 pm

    Love reading your memories! Why don’t you join in our weekly nostalgia link-up (every Tuesday)? There’s a new theme each week. Next Tues theme is ‘first holiday without parents’! Be great to see you there.

     
    • ganderingdreams

      07/06/2012 at 2:56 pm

      Hi and Thanks saveeverystep, haven’t had a chance to yet but I will check it out 🙂

       
  2. dderbydave

    26/05/2012 at 8:44 am

    Billy don’t be hero – they played that at our primary school in Melbourne to end playtime. Still word perfect today.
    BCR’s so irritating – the boys hated them but you heard them sooo much I can still sing along today.
    Still have a stack of vinyls under my bed – no turntable though.

     
    • ganderingdreams

      27/05/2012 at 11:00 am

      I didn’t have a turnable for years but Chris has got one and it’s great replaying them and finding out how bad my taste was!!!
      You’ll have to get one one day and give the children a history lesson at the same time 🙂

       
  3. disabilityonadime

    27/05/2012 at 12:51 am

    Darn you! –I’m going to be singing, “Billy, Don’t be a Hero” for the rest of the evening now! 😛

     
    • ganderingdreams

      27/05/2012 at 10:51 am

      Sorry …lol 🙂

       
    • ganderingdreams

      27/05/2012 at 11:04 am

      Better that than “ERRNIEEE and he drove the fastest milk cart in the west” … :{

       
  4. vivjm

    27/05/2012 at 4:26 pm

    Ah, TOTP on a Thursday night – those were the days!!

     
  5. merewoman

    29/05/2012 at 3:54 pm

    Thank you for taking me on a lovely trip down memory lane. How pink and fluffy pop music was back then, and how much more innocent we all were in those days. Bring them back!

     
    • ganderingdreams

      07/06/2012 at 3:00 pm

      It was great fun looking up all of these, made me want to go back and relive those days. Your right about it seeming much more innocent but maybe it was just because we where more care free in those days 🙂

       
  6. Mondrak

    10/06/2012 at 10:49 am

    Seasons in the Sun was my favourite. When West Life did it, they murdered it. You can’t beat the original. Also, Paper Lace “Billy Don’t Be A Hero” always makes me go cold.

     
    • ganderingdreams

      10/06/2012 at 3:31 pm

      I agree the origanal’s are the best . Thanks for taking the time to look at my blog and comment 🙂

       
      • Mondrak

        10/06/2012 at 4:28 pm

        You’re welcome 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
