RSS

CHILDHOOD IN ADVERTS !!!

28 May

Sorry everyone still reliving my childhood and I’ve got round to the TV adverts which were very entertaining at the time. I think my all time favourite has got to be R-WHITES LEMONADE and I’M A SECRET LEMONADE DRINKER which I still sing And the great CADBURY’S SMASH ad’s with the funny laughing Smash_Martians family.

What's for Dinner! - Smash

The Secret Lemonade Drinker  116

Then there’s the CADBURY’S FRUIT AND NUTCASE ad’s with the catchy song and the cute KIA ORA ad. The Nimble bread’s ad IN MY BEAUTIFUL BALLOON was a good one and the OXO FAMILY ads were just lovely. We also had IS SHE,ISN’T SHE Harmony Hairsprays (UCK!) and the silly SHAKE N VAC and put the freshness back! Or how about the PG TIPS MONKEY ones, the piano one being my fav. There’s also the infamous FLAKE ad’s and the THE LADY LOVES MILKTRAY (James Bond eat your heart out…lol) Classic advert’s for Cinzano Bianco  with Leonard Rossiter and Joan Collins were brilliant and funny. Back then you were allowed to advertise smoking with ones like HAMLET /CONDOR/ Marlboro and Silkcut to name but a few. UNIGATE milk did “WATCH OUT THERE’S A HUMPHREY ABOUT” ????  and YELLOW PAGES J.R.HARTLEY search for his own book about FLY FISHING (the book actually exists because I have one!) last but not least how about the COCA COLA advert I’D LIKE TO TEACH THE WORLD TO SING 🙂

I'd Like to Teach the World to Sing (In Perfec...

I’d Like to Teach the World to Sing

Coca-Cola

Coca-Cola

shake_n_vac

I’ll stop now but if you have any that I’ve forgotten or were your Favourites let me know so I can check them out too ….

Related articles

 
16 Comments

Posted by on 28/05/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “CHILDHOOD IN ADVERTS !!!

  1. dderbydave

    29/05/2012 at 7:01 am

    When I was a student in Coventry I met the people who made the props for the smash aliens. They were hanging up in an old church near Corley. She made the costume for the singing beer bear too – gold jacket? – and the Mr Wimpy men.
    Love the R Whites advert too. Thought the shake n vac woman was a bit barmy lol

     
    • ganderingdreams

      07/06/2012 at 3:05 pm

      Forgot about some of those. I bet It was a bit spooky in that church, wouldn’t want to be there on your own at night. Just my luck that the barmy shake n vac woman would turn up too ! 😦

       
  2. averagechildhood

    29/05/2012 at 5:48 pm

    I remember that Coca-Cola ad… I remember I used to like the “Mellow Yellow” ad too!

     
    • ganderingdreams

      07/06/2012 at 3:10 pm

      Thanks that’s one I hadn’t heard but I just googled it, very catchy and funny too 🙂

       
  3. Tilly Bud

    30/05/2012 at 10:05 am

    This takes me back! Remember the milk one with the red and white straw? Watch out, there’s a Humphrey about!

    And, of course, the Sugar Puffs Honey Monster – Tell ’em about the honey, Mummy!

     
  4. Memories Sew Precious

    01/06/2012 at 7:02 pm

    I am singing these now!!

     
  5. Lonnie Dee Robertson

    01/06/2012 at 7:05 pm

    This doesn’t mean we’re getting old… does it? I sure hope not… My favourite was; “Wherever wheels are rolling, No matter what the load, The name that’s known is FIRESTONE… where the rubber meets the road!”

     
    • ganderingdreams

      07/06/2012 at 3:17 pm

      I don’t feel older in my head .. but I don’t look in mirrors very often !! lol

       
  6. Samuel Wood

    02/06/2012 at 8:01 pm

    We didn’t have a TV when I was young due to parental restrictions, but I do remember seeing the old Martini ads when at friends. For someone used the to Highlands of Scotland, ‘anytime’ seemed to be given, but the ‘anywhere, anyplace’ seemed only to work in such inconceivable places as the Caribbean and Mediterranean!

     
    • ganderingdreams

      07/06/2012 at 3:32 pm

      Now that would be nice , sunny beach some where with a nice cold drink. thanks for reading and commenting on my blog 🙂

       
  7. Mike10613

    08/06/2012 at 10:19 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I just watched the Oxo advert again. I still don’t know what Oxo has to do with hamburgers! She had a very posh voice though. They all did in the 50’s! 🙂

     
    • ganderingdreams

      08/06/2012 at 11:37 pm

      Thanks Mike, some of the ad’s seem so funny these days but they where quite merry and short compared with todays. Your right lots of airs and graces in those days too, not sure why because most of us weren’t like that. Happy blogging 🙂

       
  8. Mondrak

    10/06/2012 at 10:46 am

    Holy crap! My kids were wondering what was wrong with me as I started singing the “Secret lemonade drinker” lol. “For mash get smash .. heh heh heh heh”

    Thanks for posting that 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
